A Sanitised September.

on

The days are getting shorter, and the evenings darker and longer – we are definitely in fall now, where we are in the UK.

Here is a round-up of September.

September was good to us because:

  • I bought Heroes of Might and Magic III from GOG.com for a good price, and it has given me a lot of joy to play, trying different scenarios and maps at different difficulties. I may try the campaign mode, as I was never able to complete this when I played this, years ago.
  • We had several sales on eBay.
  • We had a week away.
  • Through visiting the reduced section at the supermarket, we made a good saving on our grocery bill.
  • I did an online consumer research group which paid me £40 in vouchers.
  • We did several firsts this month; I visited Le Mistral and Wetherspoon. Husband visited Wetherspoon, took the bus, went into the city centre and visited the optician. We visited Le Mistral with Husband’s parents.
    Small steps. The optician felt good and safe to visit, as did the café where we went afterwards.
  • I did a lot of work in the garden.
  • Neighbour came by for a cup of tea. It’s the first time they have visited us since March.
  • I met my colleagues for a socially distanced meet-up in the park near the university. It was lovely to see them all.

September could have been improved by:

  • While we had several sales on eBay, we also had several buyers who did not pay until I opened Unpaid Item Cases against them.
    This dawdling is a waste of my time. You bid on my item, why should I have to chase you for payment?
  • The poor dog across the fence is being kept outside all day, every day, in a place which looks really uncomfortable for him. It’s getting colder and darker now, they really ought to keep him indoors, specially overnight. We are keeping an eye on the situation and have contacted the landlady about it. It’s really quite distressing to hear him pining for his family, as I’m sat working.


What did we spend in September?

In September, we spent £1274.18 – more than usual. This was largely due to the sight test and glasses Husband needed. Expensive, but needs must.
We also spent more on clothing this month as Husband needed some new clothing sorely, and more in transport as I took the bus a bit more.

How about our reduced savings for September?

Our grocery budget was only slightly over this month, and I attribute this to the food I managed to buy from the reduced section this month. Especially the trip to Tesco Express on the 4th saved us a lot of money.

I do wonder how our spends will look, as winter comes and there seems to be an increased likelihood of a stricter lockdown in our local area.


You can find me over on Instagram at RealmofSilver