New year, new start?

Happy New Year! I hope you have all had a lovely Christmas.

Husband went back to work on Tuesday and I went back on Wednesday, so a nice short week this week before everything goes back to normal on Monday.

I have had a think about what if any New Year resolutions I could/should have this year.

I have decided to carry on as I am.

I decided to do some things in 2016 that I intend to carry on with; maybe my resolution will be to carry on with what I am doing?

  1. Be more health conscious and continue to make lifestyle changes. In October before my birthday I went to the nurse to get a new prescription for my Pill and to have my blood pressure checked. My blood pressure was fine but the nurse wanted to weigh me and measure my waist. Once she had done that she stated that my waist size was putting me in danger of developing diabetes and that I ought to lose some weight; she finished by saying she could refer me to a fitness class!
    I was hurt by that. I felt that I looked fine! But I also knew that I know I have gained weight over the years. And that Dad developed diabetes type 2 from being obese. So I went home and had a chat with my husband to explain what had been said and that I had to make a change. Since then I have made healthier lifestyle choices. I took a break while we were back home in Norway for four days but now that we are back to normal I am back on again. So one of my resolutions is to continue to make healthy lifestyle choices in a bid to lose weight and then maintain it.
  2. Using stuff up before buying more. I have loads of toiletries; soaps, shower gels, samples of face cream, makeup, body lotions that I have accumulated, through being gifted it or as freebies. I resolved in 2016 to not buy more until I have used stuff up and I will carry this on for 2017. It is better for my purse and for the environment.
  3. And along those lines, something has come to mind that I should do even more of in 2017. I want to be even better at planning meals and using food up to avoid waste. I will do this by using our hand blender (Thank you , husband’s sister and her family!) to make soups, and by freezing stuff I don’t use. In December I ended up throwing out almost a full pack of bacon and a head of broccoli as I just did not have time to use it and I was so cross. I could have used that broccoli sooner, and I could have frozen part of that bacon down but I didn’t do it. Makes me cross to think about even now and it is something I want to avoid in 2017.

 

Those are my resolutions for 2017. What about you? Do you have any resolutions for the new year?

 

 

One thought on “New year, new start?

Leave a Reply

